Mary Ann Christopher
President and CEO

Mary Ann Christopher has served as President and CEO of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York (VNSNY), the nation’s largest not-for-profit home- and community-based health care organization, since January 2012. She is a leading national voice on a wide range of health care issues, particularly on delivering patient-centered community-based care to diverse, changing populations across a continuum of needs. In her role at VNSNY, Mrs. Christopher aims to forge broad-based partnerships and leverage an asset-building approach in order to increase access to high-quality, compassionate care, promote wellness and disease prevention, and reliably improve health outcomes. Prior to joining VNSNY, Mary Ann Christopher was President and CEO of the Visiting Nurse Association Health Group (VNAHG), the largest Visiting Nurse Association in New Jersey. Ms. Christopher’s visionary leadership has been acknowledged by the American Academy of Nursing where she is a fellow, the New York Academy of Medicine where she is also a Fellow and she was awarded the American Nurses Association Honorary Human Rights Award.

One of the region’s most visible nurse-leaders, Mrs. Christopher regularly interacts with decision-makers on Capitol Hill, as well as in Albany and New York City, to develop innovative legislative and regulatory policies to enhance the delivery of home care, hospice and community-based health care services. Her public policy work has included the advancement of public/private partnerships to address the growing nursing shortage, expansion of telehealth services, ensuring adequate reimbursement for Medicare home health, improving Medicaid managed care programs and strengthening her state’s human services system for its most vulnerable populations. Mrs. Christopher earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing from Fairfield University and a Master of Science Degree in Nursing from Seton Hall University. She and her husband, George Christopher, live in New York City and Avon By-the-Sea, New Jersey, and have four children.


Michael Bernstein
Senior Vice President for Enterprise Sales and Chief Marketing Officer

Denise Davin
Senior Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer and Labor Counsel

Judy Duhl
Senior Vice President for Government Affairs

Penny Feldman
Senior Vice President for Research and Evaluation

Hugh Hale
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Samuel Heller
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Christopher Palmieri

Kerry Parker
Senior Vice President and Chief Legal and Risk Officer

Kevin Rogers
Senior Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer,
Interim President, Provider Services

Directors of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York

John P. Rafferty
Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York

John P. Rafferty graduated with a BA in economics from Princeton University and an MS in accounting from New York University’s Stern School of Business. He served as an audit partner at Ernst & Young, LLP from 1974 to 2006, working primarily with U.S. and international financial institutions, both public and private. He has advised on new accounting and regulatory standards and evaluated and reported on internal controls in the post-Sarbanes-Oxley environment. Mr. Rafferty also served as a former president, board member, and committee head of the Blue Hill Troupe, Ltd, and was chairman of the Charities committee and an ad hoc member of the Audits and Records Committee. He was treasurer of American Friends of the National Institute of Dramatic Art in Sydney, Australia, and trustee of the Catskill Fly Fishing Center and Museum, as well as treasurer and Board member of several organizations in the Beaverkill Valley. Mr. Rafferty currently serves on the board of directors of the Visiting Nurse Service of NY. His interests include music, including singing in the Blue Hill Troupe and various outdoor activities, such as hiking, fly-fishing, cross-country skiing, and golf.

VNSNY Board of Directors
Margaret Bancroft
Bobbie Berkowitz
Douglas Broadwater (Director)
Carmen Ciparick
Mary Cummins
Robert Daum
Mary Davidson
Jose de Lasa
Edith Dupuy
Anne Ehrenkranz
Claire Fagin
Alice Frelinghuysen
Betsy Gotbaum
Clare Gregorian
Mary (Nina) Henderson
Peter Hutchings
Robert Kaufman
Michael Laskoff
Arthur Lindenauer
Kwan-Lan (Tom) Mao
Joseph Mark
Jon Mattson
Mathy Mezey
Phyllis Mills
Gwendolyn (Gwen) Adams Norton
Valerie Peltier
Carl Pforzheimer III
John Rafferty
Corinne Rieder
Ira Rimerman
Andrew Schiff
Albert Siu
Kenneth Standard
Frank Vigilante